2011-02-25

The Diary of a Teenage Girl

"Sometimes I feel incapable of love. I have a little feeling that I'm doing something wrong. I can't look at myself objectively. I want someone to say "Minnie, you shouldn't do that," even though I know it's my business and no one else is interested. I want someone to care enough to say more than just, "It's up to you what you do with your life." I don't have any opinions and I don't trust myself."

"The young and the rich already have these things, so they are free to devote their energies to developing their minds or having good, clean fun, or anything they want, really. And they are able to set their goals on spiritual fulfillment because they have everything they need otherwise. It's just not fair. The poor ones roam the streets in their jacked-up cars and they save their money to buy slick clothes from Mervyns. They aren't allowed to realize the greater value of the intangible - the goodness of one's soul. These poor people - they are the ones that strive for a piece of class."

Phoebe Gloeckner

tinteardrop at 12:54 p.m.

previous | next