2007-02-13

rubber band, man wild as the taliban!

One of my favourite pictures of myself as a wee one has me decked out in a jean skirt and pink t shirt with "i'm the BIG sister" on it in glitter. my pigtails stick straight out and i have an extremely jubilant expression on my face as i am standing on the steps of the local library with a plate of fruit kebobs in my hand. i stood next to some other grubby kids bearing entries and looking equally triumphant.

i haven't really spent time in that library since then, so i decided to rustle up some fiction today and was absolutely stunned at the experience. the library is amazing. a bookstore where you can take anything you want! how i wish i had exploited this resource earlier!

i feel like a winner either way and i found just the books i was looking for; i will indulge my michael connelly sweet tooth and love affair with harry bosch in the brand new murder thriller echo park. i hope also to reverse my cool sentiments towards ondaatje by finally reading coming through slaughter. lastly i will investigate the various bird watching spots and potential get-in-the-ocean locations of vancouver to prepare for my upcoming voyage.

i was hoping to take my time and maybe wedge myself onto one of the super square vinyl covered cushions i remember so fondly for a little teen fiction reading, but it was surprisingly busy for a monday. instead i surrendered to the cold and walked around for a bit. i spotted a bird i have never seen before! i could be (and often am) wrong, but i think it was a gray jay and it flew around right in front of me for a while. it is the season for bird sightings, for i saw a yellow-bellied sapsucker disappear into a hollow branch the other day on my street!

today i also made squash enchiladas and walnut brownies and took in a most surprising film noir, ATL. starring the boiling hot TI, it tells of teen love and betrayal on the roller skate rinks of atlanta. complete with spinners and crucial routines i must declare it the finest film noir i have seen this year!

tinteardrop at 11:01 p.m.

previous | next