2007-06-10

<3

in my head i take her outside to the curb behind the building, light a spliff and pass it to her. i turn to her and suppress every instinct to clam up and be an asshole and speak. look her in the eyes and tell her i like her and mean it. maybe i mention how nervous and awkward i fell and find cuter ways to say imposter or fraud.

in my head my fucking heart is pounding out of my chest, my eyes are bugging from the smoke and i am terrified. in my dreams she blushes a little and stares right back at me. she smiles and i make her give me her phone number and maybe we ride home together.

the honest gaiety of it all will be overwhelmed by the purity and bond and we will spend this last summer in happiness; rainy skin pressed together, circle pit romanticism, matching bike grease stains, and soaring, swollen hearts.

tinteardrop at 11:10 p.m.

previous | next