2007-10-22

moya

when i started this job, i was stoked to bike down augusta to get there and increase my chances of running into toni. i got a couple of exhilirated glimpses here and there, once on the way to and from work, hanging out in the park. never have i actually made eye contact or stopped to chat. now i have finally stopped holding my breath and have started to enjoy the ride for its autumnal comfort and innocence.

and now that i'm not waiting for toni, there she is in a bright red hoodie, calling my name and holding out a full, lit joint. the combination of happiness from the air on my face as i rode away from my job, the smoke in my lungs just after and the bright smiles and wide eyes on my favourite person was unreal. we dodged cars and baby strollers and talked for a while. she said she would really miss me and told me all about gidget (have you read it??) and that she wants to surf too. she was glowing and animated, laughing and gesturing all excitedly. we finished the whole joint and talked about being neighbors...she will be about 15 houses down. i predict my last days will be filled with scooters jams, drunken street renegade skates and a burgeoning, normal friendship with dolly. now i'll take her to the warehouse :)

i got home and hugged my mom welcome back and watched man and lady cardinal taking turns eating safflower seeds from the sparrow-proof feeder...so glad they are back! gorgeous monday, that's for sure.

tinteardrop at 11:42 p.m.

previous | next